Have you seen Red Tails yet!? A Movie Celebrating Black History


So I have a confession… I didn’t know what this movie was about before today when I went to see it. I just kept hearing about it so much. I had been planning on seeing it but never did any reasearch. Last night my friend and I were trying to decide where to go and I was like, “Hey do you want to see Red Tails?” She was like, “What’s that about?” I said, “I think its about some black firefighters.” Yeah…. WRONG. So today I was out buying a suit and decided to go ahead and see it at the mall I was in. As you can see from the poster, it’s not about firefighters at all.

It’s about the African American fighter pilots known as the “Tuskegee Airmen” who served our country in WWII. Even the military was segregated in those times, and the Tuskegee Airmen were an all-black unit that had to face many challenges both on and off the battlefield. And even in the mist of war and battle, people couldn’t see pass the color of their own countrymen’s skin.

Cinematically I would say that the movie was successful. No major flaws in the camera work or set design. The CG was pretty good as well. I’d say that the personalities and traits of some of the characters were somewhat exaggerated and the plot was slightly predictable, but other than that I found no major flaw. It was definitely entertaining with all the emotional ups and downs of a WWII film without it being overbearingly gruesome like most war movies.

I can’t describe the OVERWHELMING PRIDE that I experienced while watching this movie.  The struggles, the accomplishments, and the victories of men who were thought to be less than adequate moved me. It’s definitely a good movie to see during Black History Month. These courageous men were a part of our history, even though they are not celebrated as often as some of our other heros.

I encourage everybody to go and see this movie if you haven’t already. It was self-funded by George Lucas, and as an aspiring filmmaker, I would like to see the man get a good return on his investment.

Or at least check out the trailer below:

2 thoughts on “Have you seen Red Tails yet!? A Movie Celebrating Black History

  1. Pingback: Red Tails tells a good story–but it could’ve been a better movie… « nediunedited

Leave a Reply

